The Ahmadiyya Movement in Islam is a religious organization, international in its scope, with branches in over 176 countries in Africa, North America, South America, Asia, Australasia, and Europe. At present, its total membership estimated at around 200 million worldwide, and the numbers are increasing day by day. This is the most dynamic denomination of Islam in modern history. The Ahmadiyya Movement was established in 1889 by Hadhrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad (as) (1835-1908) in a small and remote village, Qadian, in the Punjab, India. He claimed to be the expected reformer of the latter days, the Awaited One of the world community of religions (The Mahdi and Messiah). The Movement he started is an embodiment of the benevolent message of Islam — peace, universal brotherhood, and submission to the Will of God — in its pristine purity. Hadhrat Ahmad proclaimed Islam as the religion of man: 
“The religion of the people of the right path” 
(Qur’an – Chapter 3 verse 85)
With this conviction, the Ahmadiyya Movement, within a century, has reached the corners of the Earth. Wherever the Movement is established, it endeavors to exert a constructive influence of Islam through social projects, educational institutes, health services, Islamic publications and construction of mosques, despite being bitterly persecuted in some countries. Ahmadi Muslims have earned the distinction of being a law-abiding, peaceful, persevering and benevolent community.
The Ahmadiyya Movement in Islam was created under divine guidance with the objective to rejuvenate Islamic moral and spiritual values. It encourages interfaith dialogue, and diligently defends Islam and tries to correct misunderstandings about Islam in the West. It advocates peace, tolerance, love and understanding among followers of different faiths. It firmly believes in and acts upon the Qur’anic teaching:
“There is no compulsion in religion.”
(Qur’an – Chapter 2 Verse 257)
It strongly rejects violence and terrorism in any form and for any reason.
The Movement offers a clear presentation of Islamic wisdom, philosophy, morals and spirituality as derived from the Holy Qur’an and the practice (Sunnah) of the Holy Prophet of Islam, Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allah be on him). Some Ahmadis, like the late Sir Muhammad Zafrulla Khan (who served as the first Foreign Minister of Pakistan; President of the 17th General Assembly of U.N.O.; President and Judge of the International Court of Justice, at the Hague), and Dr. Abdus Salam (the Nobel Laureate in Physics in 1979), have also been recognized by the world community for their outstanding services and achievements.
After the demise of its founder, the Ahmadiyya Movement has been headed by his elected successors — Khulafa. The present Head of the Movement, Hadhrat Mirza Masroor Ahmad, was elected in 2003. His official title is Khalifatul Masih V. 
For more information, please visit www.alislam.org – the official website of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community

Islam, the name given by Allah to this religion (Qur’an 5:4), is an Arabic word which literally means obedience and peace. ‘Islam‘ is derived from the Arabic root ‘Salema’, meaning ‘peace’, ‘purity’, ‘submission’ and ‘obedience’. So ‘Islam’ would mean the path of those who are obedient to Allah and who establish peace with Him and His creatures. It’s followers are called Muslims.

Islam is not a new religion. It is, in essence, the same message and guidance which Allah revealed to all prophets before  Hadhrat Muhammad (saw). Allah says in the Qur’an:

Say, `We believe in Allah and that which has been revealed to us, and that which was revealed to Abraham and Ishmael and Isaac and Jacob and the tribes, and in that which was given to Moses and Jesus and other Prophets from their Lord. We make no distinction between any of them and to Him we submit.”

(Qur’an, Chapter 3 verse 85)


The Five Pillars of Islam:

  1. Bearing witness that there is no God but Allah and that The Holy Prophet Muhammad (saw) is the Messenger of Allah

  2. Observance of Prayer

  3. Paying Zakat

  4. Pilgrimage to the House of Allah

  5. Fasting during the month Ramadhan


The Six Articles of Faith in Islam:

  1. To believe in the Oneness of Allah.

  2. To believe in all His Angels.

  3. To believe in all His Books.

  4. To believe in all His Prophets.

  5. To believe in the Day of Resurrection.

  6. To believe in Taqdir (i.e. that Divine decree controls the eventual outcome of all actions in this universe)